Executives to Share Thoughts on Leadership with MBA Students Over Breakfast

January 14, 2010 Student with Breakfast Speaker

The MBA Leaders Breakfast Series will continue throughout the spring semester, bringing business executives and MBA Full-Time and Evening Program students together to share a meal and thoughts on leadership.

Sixteen business leaders from a variety of industries are slated to participate in the series, which is held each semester. At the breakfasts, the executives speak to a small group of students about leadership and then engage in discussion through a question-and-answer session.

The spring’s lineup of speakers includes:

• Gloria Bohan, president and CEO of Omega Travel
• William Demchak, senior vice chairman and head of Corporate & Institutional Banking for the PNC Financial Services Group
• Maria S. Gomez, president and CEO of Mary’s Center for Maternal and Child Care
• Alan Gould, CEO of Nielsen IAG
• Lee Grossman, president and CEO of the Autism Society of America
• Frank Lavin, chairman of Edelman Public Relations Asia, former U.S. ambassador to Singapore, and former U.S. undersecretary of commerce for international trade
• Laura Liswood, senior advisor and former managing director for global leadership and diversity at Goldman Sachs and secretary general of the Council of Women World Leaders at the Aspen Institute
• Jack Maier, senior managing director and head of FBR’s Financial Mergers and Acquisitions Group
• Spike Mendelsohn, co-owner of Good Stuff Eatery and Top Chef contestant
• Sharon Pratt, founder and leader of Pratt Consulting and the third mayor of Washington, D.C.
• Scott Schoen, president of THL
• Steven Shafran, former senior advisor to the secretary of the treasury and formerly with Goldman Sachs
• William Smith, executive vice president and senior scientist with AED
• Patrick Steel, senior managing director and head of FBR Capital Markets’ Financial Sponsors Group
• Terrence Straub, senior vice president of public policy and government affairs for U.S. Steel
• David Walker, president and CEO of the Peter G. Peterson Foundation