Students Honored During Tropaia

May 20, 2011

Georgetown University’s McDonough School of Business honored its undergraduate students for their academic achievements during Tropaia Exercises on May 20 in Gaston Hall. This ceremony recognizes outstanding achievements of students and faculty. The word tropaia is ancient Greek and refers to a monument constructed to celebrate a military victory.

The school honored five graduates for their academic achievements and service. David Hammerman received the Reverend Joseph S. Sebes, S.J. Award; Catherine Wayman received the Othmar Winkler Award; and Meghan McCormick received the Dixon Medal.

The Valedictorian Award went to Brendan Lafountain for earning the highest grade-point average in the school, and the Salutatorian Award was presented to Kelsey Tom, who earned the second-highest grade point-average.
Lafountain addressed the business school’s Class of 2011 and discussed the most treasured moments of his time at Georgetown.

“It is the connections that make moments meaningful,” he said. “Today is a culmination of four years of moments that will forge between us connections that will follow us much farther into the future.”

Graduates were recognized who were inducted into honor societies, including Alpha Mu Alpha, a marketing honorary; Alpha Sigma Nu, a Jesuit honorary for loyalty, scholarship, and service; Beta Gamma Sigma, a business honorary; and the Financial Management Association National Honor Society.

Additionally, several faculty members were honored, including Assistant Professor of Marketing Debora Thompson, who received the Faculty Research Award; Associate Professor of Management Edward Soule, who received the Joseph LeMoine Award for Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Excellence; Associate Professor of Operations Robin Dillon-Merrill, who received the Dean’s Distinguished Service Award; Adjunct Professor William Finnerty, who received the Peter Gonzalez, Jr. Award for Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching; and Professor of Management Robert Bies, who received the Academic Council Professor of the Year Student Choice Award.

Students also were recognized within the majors of accounting, finance, management, marketing and international business, and operations and information management. The following students received awards:

Deloitte Award for Accounting Excellence
Timothy Baisley

George Houston Accounting Achievement Award
Katherine Hrebinko and Eric Hart

Accounting Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Christopher Ramesh

Georgetown Accounting Society Award for Service
Robert Forsythe and Alienor Armand

Finance Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Erin Cannata

Center for Financial Markets & Policy Award for Achievement in Finance
Brendan Lafountain

Center for Financial Markets & Policy Award for Achievement in International Finance
Ryan Ochs

Award for Achievement in Financial Services
Elizabeth Cua

Award for Achievement in Corporate Finance
Philip Sampognaro

Award for Achievement in Banking
Olga Dorosh

Award for Achievement in Investments
Kelsey Tom

FMA/Credit Suisse Award for Excellence in Finance
Michael Kober

Financial Management Association Award for Service
Olga Dorosh, Bonjean Koo, and Michelle Lee

Management Faculty Award for Academic Excellence in Human Resource Management
Kelsey Tom

William J. Curtin Award for Academic Excellence in Domestic and International Employee Relations
Lowell Karr

Swift Glass Company Award for Academic Excellence in Innovation
Courtney Cooper

William Usery Award for Academic Excellence in Negotiation, Mediation, and Conflict Resolution
Cody Ling

Gannett Award for Academic Excellence in Negotiation, Arbitration, and Labor Relations
Brendan Somerville

Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service Award for Academic Excellence in Negotiation, Mediation, and Alternative Dispute Resolution
Matthew Crnkovich

BAE Systems International Marketing Award
Emily Demchyk

IMAX Marketing Research Award
Catherine Cook

IMAX Marketing Scholar Award
Ariel Segal

Interlink Capital Strategies International Business Scholar Award
Jens Blomdahl

Newell Rubbermaid Marketing/International Business Award
Keenan Timco

International Business Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Brendan Lafountain

Marketing Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Aditya Sahajwalla

Operations and Information Management Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Viba Saligrama

PricewaterhouseCoopers Award for Service and Scholarship in Operations and Information Management
Christine Curley

Deloitte Award for Service in Operations and Information Management
Joseph Bittlingmaier