McDonough School of Business
News Story

Tropaia Celebrates Undergraduate Students And Faculty

Georgetown’s McDonough School of Business recognized students graduating with honors from the Undergraduate Program on Friday, May 17, during the school’s annual Tropaia. Watch the video
During the ceremony, McDonough’s valedictorian, Selina Wang, addressed her classmates with a reminder of remembering those who helped them all arrive to the moment of their Georgetown graduation. For Wang, it was her grandmother’s sage advice dispensed through weekly calls to China that helped her along the way.
“It didn’t just start when we got here. It didn’t start in high school. We are the beneficiaries of so many important figures who have touched our lives,” she said. “Those that ignited our torches and the fire within. Someone else has taken an interest in your future, a stake in your life, a role in your history.”
Wang added that the responsibility to help others on their way now lies with the class of 2019.
“So now the torch is in our hands. The best way we can show our gratitude is to be that champion for someone else,” she added. “Wherever we go, wherever we end up, whatever profession we take on, our shared experience at Georgetown demands us to pay our luck forward. So, I say to you now, with torch in hand, go forth and set the world on fire.”

During the Tropaia program, the following students received awards:

Academic Honors

Valedictorian Award
Selina Wang

Salutatorian Award
Yasaswini Dandu

Reverend Joseph S. Sebes Award (significant overall contribution to the welfare and reputation of the school)
David Toledo 

Othmar W. Winkler Award (demonstrating a strong concern for others and the less privileged especially in the Washington, D.C. community)
Daphne Chiang
Jerome De’Aires Smalls

Undergraduate Dean’s Award (most significant overall contribution in the area of social enterprise or social entrepreneurship either in the local or global community)
Alexander Glen Heintze

Summa Cum Laude Students (3.881 GPA or above)
Nicholas Peter Aquino
Henry Fitzgerald Connon
Yasaswini Dandu
Julia Morgan Dutkiewicz
Matthew James Giangiordano
Maria Elizabeth Giaquinto
Joshua Harris Goldstein
Lisa Liu
Yan-Ling Lu
Matthew Murphy McMahon
Nikhil Krishan Mendiratta
Toby Daniel Nelson
Anisha Ganesh Pai
Alexander John Sideropoulos
Evan Jacob Steinman
Meixi Wan
Selina Zizhao Wang
Sophia Catherine Wible

Accounting Awards

Deloitte Award for Accounting Excellence
Michael Gennaro Castagna

George Houston Accounting Achievement Award (highest academic achievement in the field of accounting)
Yasaswini Dandu
Yan-Ling Lu

Georgetown University Accounting Society Award for Service & Excellence (excellence in the leadership of and in service to undergraduate accounting students)
Abigail Regan Lake
Elizabeth Madison Miriam Morris

Hoffman-Galasso Family Award (exceptional contributions to the Accounting Department)
Maria Elizabeth Giaquinto

Accounting Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Joshua Goldstein 

Finance Awards

McDonough School of Business Finance Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Matthew James Giangiordano

Michael G. Psaros Award for Excellence in Investments
Matthew Murphy McMahon

Center for Financial Markets & Policy Award for Achievement in International Finance
Pranav Atul Kampani

Center for Financial Markets & Policy Award for Achievement in Finance
Lisa Liu

Robert and Lauren Steers Award for Excellence in Real Estate Finance
James Andrew Gleason

Award for Achievement in Corporate Finance
Ian Jerome Armour

Award for Achievement in Financial Services
Sydney Grace Goodson

Award for Achievement in Banking 
Meixi Wan

International Business Awards

Interlink Capital Strategies Corporation (outstanding performance in the study of international business)
Matthew James Giangiordano

Ilkka A. Ronkainen Award for International Business and Marketing (high academic achievement in both the marketing and international business fields)
Julia Morgan Dutkiewicz
Sarah Claire Pavlak

International Business Faculty Award for Academic Excellence 
Elisa Romano

Management Awards

Elutions, Inc. Award (academic excellence in leadership and management studies)
Diego Garcia

NFI Industries Award (academic excellence in management studies)
Collin Joseph Llewellyn

William J. Usery Award (excellence in the study of negotiation and mediation)
Chad Robert Peterson

William J. Curtin Award (academic excellence in leadership)
Arthur Bernard Calcagnini

Swift Glass Company Award (academic excellence in innovation)
Darcy Marie Bedford

Ciarrocchi Award (academic excellence in management studies)
Erin Elizabeth Barone

McDonough School of Business Management Faculty Award for Academic 
Excellence in Human Capital and Human Resource Management
Alexander Glen Heintze

Marketing Awards

Johny K. Johansson International Marketing Award
Michael Gregory Baken

IMAX Marketing Research Award (excellence in marketing research coursework)
Andrea Charcas

IMAX Marketing Scholar Award (scholastic achievement in the study of marketing)
Sarah Claire Pavlak

McDonough School of Business Marketing Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Hailey Elizabeth Maher

Operations and Information Management Awards

Deloitte Award for Operations and Information Management (service and high academic achievement)
Nina Cheng

PricewaterhouseCoopers Award for Service and Scholarship in Operations and Information Management
Ian Jerome Armour

McDonough School of Business Operations and Information Management Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Lucia Moradian

Faculty Awards

Faculty Research Award 
Reining Petacchi, associate professor of accounting

Joseph F. Lemoine Award for Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Excellence
Stanley Nollen, professor of international business

Faculty Award for Extraordinary Service
Michael O’Leary, teaching professor of management and faculty chair, Undergraduate Program

Peter W. Gonzalez, Jr. Award for Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching
Jay Wright, adjunct professor

Academic Council Professor of the Year Student Choice Award
Ronald Goodstein, associate professor of marketing 


Undergraduate Program