McDonough School of Business
News Story

Undergraduate Students and Faculty Honored During Tropaia

Students graduating with honors from the Georgetown University McDonough School of Business Undergraduate Program were recognized Friday, May 20, during the school’s annual Tropaia Ceremony.

The school’s valedictorian, John Harrington, delivered remarks on behalf of the Class of 2016, noting that the ideals of intellectual curiosity and business ethics were the keys to their success.

Harrington’s first class as a Georgetown student was the First Year Seminar with Professor of the Practice Charles Skuba. While he admits he chose the class based on Skuba’s score on “Rate My Professor,” he quickly learned how Georgetown professors lead students on a path of intellectual curiosity, which he says sets the university and its graduates apart.

He also discussed the importance of Georgetown’s emphasis on teaching ethics in business, “which I strongly believe,” he said, “to be the hope of our future.”

At the end of the ceremony, Georgetown McDonough Dean David A. Thomas reminded the students of the Jesuit values to be women and men for others and to ask for more to do more for the world. Even if the graduates enter business professions not traditionally associated with being for others, he said there are ways to live these ideals every day.

“No matter where you find yourself, you will act as principled leaders willing to put others before yourself,” he said. “You’ll have a global orientation and see the world as an interconnected community that allows you to connect to those who are different than you. Those who are less fortunate than you. And you will use your business acumen and influence to always serve the interests of both business and society.”

During the Tropaia program, the following students and faculty were recognized by the Undergraduate Program and academic leadership:

Academic Honors
Reverend Joseph S. Sebes, S.J. Award
Olivia M. Hewitt

Othmar Winkler Award
Carleigh O. Douglas
Stephen J. Cacace

Undergraduate Dean’s Award
Kamli J. Sirjue

Salutatorian Award
Diana Pinello

Valedictorian Award
John N. Harrington

Accounting Awards
Deloitte Award for Accounting Excellence
Diana Pinello

George Houston Accounting Achievement Award
Wenxuan Dong
Ricard D. Piano

Accounting Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Lichi Dong

Georgetown Accounting Society Award for Service and Excellence
Jason R. Yoffe
Donesha M. Sibley

Hoffman-Galasso Award
Matthew R. Murphy

Finance Awards
Finance Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Viabhav Agarwal

Robert and Lauren Steers Award for Excellence in Real Estate Finance
John A. Fitton

Michael G. Psaros Award for Excellence in Investments
Tiffany H. Li

Center for Financial Markets & Policy Award for Achievement in Finance
Yue Huang

Center for Financial Markets & Policy Award for Achievement in International Finance
Sarah M. Schoch

Award for Achievement in Banking
Caleb T. Peterson

Award for Achievement in Corporate Finance
Kevin Tian

Award for Achievement in Financial Services
Jaclyn A. McCadden

Financial Management Association Award for Service
Caleb T. Peterson

International Business Awards
Interlink Capital Strategies International Business Scholar Award
Kelsey E. Begin

Ilkka A. Ronkainen Award for International Business and Marketing
Julianne C. Reilly

International Business Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Colin T. Walls

Management Awards
Elutions, Inc. Award for Academic Excellence in Management Studies
Megan E. McDonald

NFI Industries Award for Academic Excellence in Management Studies
Paige K. Strawn

Gannett Award for Academic Excellence in Negotiation, Arbitration, and Labor Relations
Westford L. Lang

Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service Award for Academic Excellence in Negotiation, Mediation, and Alternative Dispute Resolution
Sean P. O’Neill

William J. Curtin Award for Academic Excellence in Leadership
Catherine A. Dewing-Hommes

Swift Glass Company Award for Academic Excellence in Innovation
Daniel B. Jayson

Management Faculty Award for Academic Excellence in Human Capital and Human Resource Management
Tessa W. Bell

Marketing and International Business Awards
Johny K. Johansson International Marketing Award
Michael J. Lederhouse

IMAX Marketing Research Award
Ashley D. Lozier

IMAX Marketing Scholar Award
John N. Harrington

Marketing Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Megan A. Rebholtz

Operations and Information Management
Deloitte Award for Service in Operations and Information Management
Rahul Desai

PricewaterhouseCoopers Award for Service and Scholarship in Operations and Information Management
Sarah R. Long

Operations and Information Management Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
William G. Harrington

Faculty Awards
Faculty Research Award
Christopher Rider, Assistant Professor of Strategy

Joseph F. LeMoine Award for Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Excellence
Lynn Lanz Doran, Teaching Professor of Finance
Bardia Kamrad, Professor of Operations and Information Management

Dean’s Distinguished Service Award
William R. Baber, Professor of Accounting

Peter W. Gonzalez, Jr. Award for Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching
Craig S. O’Connor, Adjunct Professor

Academic Council Professor of the Year Student Choice Award
George Comer, Associate Professor of Finance