McDonough School of Business
MBA Class of 2024 celebrates their accomplishments the MBA Awards and Gala
News Story

MBA Program Honors Graduates During Inaugural Awards Gala

Georgetown’s McDonough School of Business honored the Full-time and Flex MBA Class of 2024 during the inaugural MBA Awards Gala on May 10 to recognize graduates who had made outstanding contributions to the school and community. 

The MBA Awards are given to individuals who exemplified the core values of Georgetown McDonough, excelled during their time in the program, and went above and beyond to enhance the experience for others in the MBA community. The winners were nominated by students, faculty, and staff and recognized during the event’s awards presentation.

“One of the core aspects of the Georgetown MBA experience is the cura personalis tenet of caring for the whole person, and we were thrilled to honor our students, staff, and faculty who have exemplified our Jesuit focus and made exceptional contributions to the greater community,” said Sudipta Dasmohapatra, senior associate dean of MBA programs at Georgetown McDonough. “The MBA Awards and Gala is a highlight of the MBA experience, celebrating our graduates’ accomplishments and anticipating the next chapter of their professional careers as they continue to innovate and inspire others.”  

During the event, the graduating class came together to reflect on their time on the Hilltop and celebrate their accomplishments as a cohort before they crossed the commencement stage on May 17. MBA students heard remarks from program leadership and faculty, as well as from alumnus Kofi Sakyi (MBA’23), account manager at PIMCO and 2023 recipient of the Daniel Walker McNeal Award, who shared well wishes and advice with the graduating class. The event concluded with a farewell message from Student Government Association president Mac Johnson (MBA’24) and executive vice president Wesley Warughese (MBA’24).

The awards and honorees included the following students, faculty, and staff. To view the full list of honors, including the Leadership Fellows, Community Fellows and Advocates, and Dean’s Citation Awards, visit the gala website

Academic Honors*

Valedictorian Award

Full-time MBA: Jeffrey Garner

Flex MBA: Curran O’Connell

Salutatorian Award

Full-time MBA: Divya Gupta

Flex MBA: Stephen Golden

McDonough Scholars (top 10% of the Full-time and Flex MBA classes)

Marlee Baucom

Daniel Bishop

John Callaway

Rishi Choubey

Isaac Chua

Michael Coniglio

Michael Connolly

Ryan Culberson

Jillian DeSimone

Ethan Finkelstein

Sarah Gadsden

Jeffery Garner

Allen Gersky

Stephen Golden

Garrett Greensmith

Divya Gupta

Daniel Hanower

Emily Hunt

Lamia Kalam

Mizna Kanafani

Allison Kibby

Samuel Laforet

Joshua Michael Linhart

Joshua MacGregor

Peter McGee

Edward Mobus

Renzo Miraval

Ian Mullican

Anthony Nader

John O’Connell

John Rurka

Phoebe Sanderson

Taso Scilaris

Sumner Smith

Victor Tang

Gilbert Watson

Qing Yan

*Academic awards were recognized as students crossed the stage during commencement exercises on May 17. 

Community Awards

Community Builder Award (recognizes outstanding leadership skills of those who worked to build a sense of community and a supportive environment beyond the classroom)

Mario Castro

Jill DeSimone

Tony Mena

Priyanshi Manya Tiwari

Creativity and Innovation Award (demonstrates exceptional creativity and innovation in their efforts to improve processes, solve problems, or create opportunities in support of the MBA program)

Marian Asuncion

Dumi Mabhena

Daniel Walker McNeal Award (recognizes a student who exemplifies the characteristics of the McDonough MBA program, including Jesuit values, ethical standards, a drive to excel, dedication to academic excellence, a service mindset, and community involvement)

Christian Bordoli

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award (recognizes leadership and dedication to creating a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive community)

Kilandra Bass

Nishant Makhijani

Daniela Zuluaga

Global Leadership Award (recognizes individuals who have made substantial contributions to global business and/or intercultural appreciation)

Renzo Morales Miraval

Outstanding MBA Student Organization Award (recognizes an MBA student organization for their leadership and service to the McDonough community)


Sustainability Award (demonstrates an exceptional commitment to sustainability initiatives)

Mizna Kanafani

Tarun Thomas Philip

Faculty and Staff Awards

Excellence in Teaching Award

Allison Koester, associate professor of accounting

Lee Pinkowitz, associate professor of finance and associate director of the Psaros Center for Financial Markets and Policy

Ronald L. Smith Distinguished Service Award (demonstrates an exceptional commitment to support students’ academic, professional, or personal success)

Vishal Agrawal, Henry J. Blommer Family Endowed Chair in Sustainable Business and  academic director of the Business of Sustainability Initiative

Rachel Smith, associate director of career curricula and communications at the McDonough Career Center